Can I get out of a Reckless Driving charge?
Unlike “Careless Driving”, “Reckless Driving” is a criminal offense under Florida law, which defines it as operating a motor vehicle with willful or wanton disregard for the safety of others.
This means that you were driving in an unsafe manner, either on purpose, or with indifference to the consequences that result from your unsafe driving. Negligence or carelessness is not sufficient to prove reckless driving, nor is driving at a high speed alone. In some cases, however, driving at high speeds combined with other unsafe driving actions can satisfy the reckless driving standard of behavior.
Examples of reckless driving include fleeing from police in your vehicle, driving while intoxicated or with alcohol in your system, driving at high speeds during bad weather, driving around traffic, zigzagging to pass others at high speeds and ignoring traffic signs or lights while driving.
Penalties for a Reckless Driving Conviction
If you are convicted of reckless driving, you can face various legal consequences, as well as restrictions placed on your driver’s license or a license suspension.
For a first-time reckless driving conviction, you may have to serve up to 90 days in jail, along with paying a fine of $500, restitution for property damage, and court costs, be put on probation, be assigned community service hours and several hours of traffic school. For a second offense, you could spend up to six months in jail if convicted.
Your insurance rates are likely to substantially increase, as a reckless driving conviction adds four points to your driving record.
Reducing Your Reckless Driving Charge
Given the serious potential consequences of a reckless driving conviction, it is essential that you fight this charge in court. With an experienced traffic law attorney on your side, you may be able to have your reckless driving case reduced to careless driving, which is a civil traffic infraction. A good attorney can persuade the prosecutor and the judge to agree to withhold the convection and the points from your record, or even have the charge dismissed altogether. Taking this route also will avoid having points placed on your license and as a result, you can avoid having your insurance rates increase. Let alone can save you thousands of dollars in the coming years.
Albert Quirantes: Your Miami Criminal Defense Lawyer & DUI Lawyer
For over 29 years, Miami criminal defense attorney Albert M. Quirantes has been aggressively and zealously defending the rights of those accused of felony and misdemeanor crimesthroughout South Florida. With his dedicated team, reasonable legal fees, and a well-earned reputation for challenging prosecutors at every turn, he has protected over 8,000 clients during some of the roughest times of their lives.
Increase your knowledge! If you want to know more about how to resolve the problems you face when charged with a criminal offense in Florida, then you can follow Miami Criminal Attorney Albert M. Quirantes on Facebook, Twitter, or Google+.
If you have been arrested and charged with a crime, please call us today at (305) 644-1800 or fill out our online form to arrange for your free, confidential initial consultation.
If you have any questions about this or any other criminal accusation, call Miami Criminal Defense Lawyer Albert Quirantes at: (305) 644-1800 or visit our homepage www.CriminalDefendant.com for a direct link to the office or a text message or a map and directions to our office.